Skip to main content

Who We Are:

The New York Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award.

The Academy had its beginning on November 15, 1955 when Ed Sullivan held a luncheon meeting in New York City to discuss the future of television. This meeting was attended by fifty leaders in the television industry, including the likes of Walter Cronkite, Edward R. Murrow, Carl Reiner and Neil Simon. These leaders vowed to work to insure that only the highest standards of excellence would prevail as television progressed. Within two weeks, the group doubled to become “The Committee of 100”.

By June 1957, the 3,000 members in New York and Hollywood combined to become The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Ed Sullivan was elected the first President.

The New York Chapter is the flagship chapter of 19 in the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences: Boston /New England, Chicago/Midwest, Cleveland, Heartland Chapter, Lone Star, Michigan, Mid-America, Mid-Atlantic, Nashville/Midsouth, National Capital/Chesapeake Bay, New York, Ohio Valley, Pacific Southwest, Rocky Mountain/Southwest, San Francisco/Northern California, Northwest, Southeast, Suncoast and Upper Midwest, as well as by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (ATAS) in Los Angeles.

Policy for the New York Chapter is set by a Board of Governors, which comprises television professionals representing Broadcast Journalism, Creative Crafts, Design, Direction, Executives, Music, Performance, Production, Sales/Marketing, Writing and Advanced Media.

Presidents of the Board have been: Ed Sullivan, Mark Goodson, Robert F. Lewine, Walter Cronkite, Henry White, Betty Furness, Royal Blakeman, Sonny Fox, Charles Mountain,  John Cannon, David A. Braun, Jules Power, Lee Polk, Dick Schneider, Robert G. Simon, George Dessart, Alvin Cooperman, Paul Noble, Wiley F. Hance, Arthur Kent, Nicki Goldstein, William F. Baker, Maury Povich, Jane Hanson, Shelly Palmer, and N.J. Burkett.

The current President is Denise Rover.


Our Membership:

New York Chapter member represent all aspects of the television and media industry: talent, technical, press, production, post-production, executive, support services, etc. and from companies including broadcast networks, cable programming services, local stations, independent production companies, advertising agencies, unions, guilds and more!


Emmy® Gala Press:

Both print and television media coverage including but not limited to newspaper, magazine, and TV crews from participating New York outlets.