Skip to main content

NY Emmy® Nomination Announcement

Shelly Palmer, President -- Jane Hanson 1st VP -- Karen Scott 2nd VP

New York, NY, May 18, 2007 -- Shelly Palmer, host of Media 3.0 with Shelly Palmer was elected President of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, NY (the organization that bestows the Emmy® Award) by a unanimous vote of its Board of Governors.  Palmer succeeds past President, Jane Hanson.

The new executive committee includes:
President: Shelly Palmer, host of Media 3.0 with Shelly Palmer
1st Vice President: Jane Hanson, host of Jane''s New York
2nd Vice President: Karen Scott, News Director, CW11
Secretary: Denise Rover, Account Manager, WNJU-TV/Telemundo 47
Treasurer: Chris Pizzurro, VP Digital Media, Turner Entertainment Sales

The New York Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and media, and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award.

"This is an exciting time of transition in the businesses of technology, media and entertainment, said Palmer "... it is an honor to work with such an extraordinary executive committee and future-thinking board."

The Academy began on November 15, 1955 when Ed Sullivan held a luncheon meeting in New York City to discuss the future of television with industry leaders including Walter Cronkite, Edward R. Murrow, Carl Reiner and Neil Simon. These leaders vowed to work to insure that only the highest standards of excellence would prevail as television progressed. Within two weeks, the group doubled to become “The Committee of 100.”

By June 1957, the 3,000 members in New York and Hollywood combined to become The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Ed Sullivan was elected the first President.

Past Presidents of the Board have included: Ed Sullivan, Mark Goodson, Robert F. Lewine, Walter Cronkite, Henry White, Betty Furness, Royal Blakeman, Sonny Fox, Charles Mountain, John Cannon, David A. Braun, Jules Power, Lee Polk, Dick Schneider, Robert G. Simon, George Dessart, Alvin Cooperman, Wiley F. Hance, Arthur Kent, William F. Baker, Maury Povich and Jane Hanson.

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, NY is located at 1375 Broadway, Suite 2103, NY, NY 10018 (212) 459-3630. For More information visit,