

## THE NEW YORK CHAPTER OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF TELEVISION ARTS AND SCIENCES ANNOUNCES ITS 53<sup>RD</sup> ANNUAL NEW YORK EMMY<sup>®</sup> AWARDS GALA TO BE HELD SUNDAY, APRIL 18, 2010

**New York, NY, April 16, 2010** – The New York Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences proudly announces its 53<sup>rd</sup> Annual New York Emmy® Awards Gala will be held on Sunday, April 18, 2010 at the Marriott Marquis, Times Square. The New York Emmy® Awards honor content created primarily for the New York region. In attendance will be 800 of the top professionals representing all facets of media, including familiar faces from news, entertainment, sports, production and advertising.

Les Paul, the late Rock and Roll legend, New York icon and inventor of the solid-body electric guitar whose successful television show "The Les Paul and Mary Ford at Home Show" made him a household name, will be presented our prestigious **GOVERNORS AWARD** for his extraordinary career in television and entertainment. His son Russ Paul will accept the lifetime achievement Emmy® on his behalf.

Our presenters, from the worlds of news, entertainment, and sports, include: Actor **Orlando Jones**; Photographer **Nigel Barker**; Health/Nutrition Expert **Joy Bauer**; Actor **Richard Belzer**; BET host **Rocsi Diaz**; Celebrity Chef **Rocco DiSpirito**; Broadway star **Aaron Lazar**; TV/Radio personality **Jacque Reid**; CBS Correspondent **Kelly Wallace**; Psychosexual Therapist **Dr. Ruth Westheimer**; NY Giants Linebacker **Gerris Wilkinson**; Sportscaster and TV personality **Jill Martin**; *CBS2 News* Anchors **Kristine Johnson**, **Chris Wragge**; WNJU Telemundo Anchors **Jorge Ramos**, **Odalys Molina**, from *LX New York* **Sara Gore**, **George Oliphant**; News 12 Long Island Anchors **Jodi Appelgate**, **Ron Corning**, **Elizabeth Hashagen**; from *PIX News* **Mary Murphy**, **Marvin Scott**; *My 9 News* Anchors **Brenda Blackmon**, **Harry Martin**; from *Eyewitness News* WABC **N.J. Burkett**, **Sarah Wallace**; Reporter/Host News 12 New Jersey **John Bathke**; Reporters for WNBC and NY NonStop **Cat Greenleaf**, **Andrew Siff**.

Visit www.nyemmys.org for additional information.

The New York Emmy® Awards will be broadcast on Time Warner Cable CUNY-TV channel 75 on Saturday, April 24, 2010 at 9:00 PM. Encore presentation on Sunday, April 25, 2010 at 9:00 PM.

The New York Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, founded in 1955, is the preeminent membership organization serving all media professionals by offering professional development events and networking opportunities. NY NATAS conducts activities that cultivate and promote understanding of, appreciation for, and public interest in the arts, crafts and sciences of television. NY NATAS fosters creativity and inspires artistic and technical excellence through the renowned Emmy® Award, the most prestigious honor and most coveted peer-recognition symbol of distinction in television. NY NATAS continues to evolve playing a vital role in recognizing outstanding content in our changing industry. As distribution platforms have expanded to include broadband and portable devices NY NATAS now honors television the art form regardless of the delivery platform.

###

CONTACT: Jacqueline Gonzalez, Executive Director The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, New York Chapter Phone: 212-459-3630 ext. 203. Email: jgonzalez@nyemmys.org